December 07, 2008

U-17 Slam winds up in Hamilton

The last of the four U-17 events which make up the Slam was held at the Lanarkshire Ice Rink this weekend. The winners of the Hamilton competition which was sponsored by Scottish Conveyancing Services were Jennifer Dodds, Tasha Aitken, Abi Brown and Mhairi Baird.

Jennifer and her team got past Scott Fraser, Jamie Fraser, John Fraser and Scott Fraser in the semifinal to meet Hammy McMillan, Rori Macpherson, Andi Locke and Hamish McGeoch in the final. McMillan's team had beaten Blair Fraser, Thomas Sloan, Hannah Fleming and Becca Kesley in the semi - although this team are the overall Slam winners with successes at Perth and Lockerbie.

The final was a well played tight game. It was tied after eight ends. It should have been Hammy's victory, with chances at two extra ends. At the ninth he hit and ran, and at the tenth his tap back just drew off line and slipped through, allowing the Dodds' team to steal the Hamilton trophy. They were also the highest up female rink in the Slam series.

The scores are here.

Top: Winners at Hamilton. L-R Mhairi Baird, Abi Brown, John Carson (representing the sponsor), Jennifer Dodds and Tasha Aitken.

Jennifer Dodds

Tasha Aitken, here in the semifinal suggesting that her stone might need some gentle sweeping!

Mairi Baird and Abi Brown look after their skip's stone in the final.

Hammy delivers with front end Andi Locke and Hamish McGeoch in the final.

Hammy McMillan

The overall U-17 Slam winners: Rebecca Kesley, Hannah Fleming, Thomas Sloan (who plays the fourth stones) and skip Blair Fraser.

Pics by Bob.

Elsewhere this weekend, Coldstream beat Corstorphine by one end in the inaugural Double Rink Championship final at Stranraer. Kilsyth CC and Currie and Balerno were the losing semifinalists. The linescores are here. And Colin Hamilton's report is here.

Glen Muirhead, Craig Reid, Neil Joss, Dillan Perras, Ian Watt and Angus Robertson were the six teams who came out of the prequalifier at Curl Aberdeen for the next rounds of the Bruadar Scottish Men's Championship. Find the scores here.

No comments: