September 07, 2007

Teams announced for Glynhill International

When details of the new international women's event at Braehead, scheduled for January 17-20, 2008, were announced way back in May, competition organiser Judith McFarlane was hopeful that the top women's teams in the world would come to the Braehead rink.

And they will be there. Teams from Austria, Canada, two from Denmark, Germany, Japan, Netherlands, three from Russia, Switzerland and Sweden, as well as eight Scottish sides, have already sent confirmation of entry. It promises to be a cracker of a competition!

The twenty teams which will line up for the Glynhill Hotel sponsored event are:
Shari Leibbrandt (Netherlands), Sharon Stewart (Scotland), Kelly Wood (Scotland), Claire Milne (Scotland) Sarah Reid (Scotland), Daniela Jentsch (Germany), Gail Munro (Scotland), Kelly Scott (Canada), Eve Muirhead (Scotland), Lene Neilsen (Denmark), Liudmila Privivkova (Russia), Margarita Fomina (Russia), Daria Kozlova (Russia), Claudia Toth (Austria), Moe Meguro (Japan), Gillian Howard (Scotland), Anna Hasselborg (Sweden), Edith Loudon (Scotland), Binia Feltscher-Beali (Switzerland), Angelina Jensen (Denmark).

The event website is here.

Judith says, "The Organising Committee are delighted with the standard and geographical spread of teams that are participating in the first annual WCT-E event."

The event is now established in the World Curling Tour-Europe calendar. The event is also supported by the legacy funding from the financially successful World Women's Championship at Paisley's Lagoon Centre in 2005.

Madeleine Dupont, fourth player for Angelina Jensen's Danish team, gets serious in Hugh Stewart's photo. Denmark lost in the final of the World Championship at Aomori last season to Kelly Scott's Canadians. Both sides will be at Braehead in January.

No comments: