May 19, 2007

Margaret Withycombe and Anne Airey win Ice Diamonds Award at RCCC Gala Dinner

The Royal Caledonian Curling Club's Gala Curling Awards dinner was held May 18 at the Hilton Hotel, Edinburgh Airport.

Margaret Withycombe and Anne Airey, who headed the team which organised the successful world wheelchair qualifying competition at Braehead last year, were the inaugural winners of the Ice Diamonds Award, the volunteer award, which was sponsored by the Scottish Curler. The photo above, by Hugh Stewart, shows Scottish Curler depute editor Christine Stewart (centre) with Anne (left) and Margaret (right).

The Team of the Year, sponsored by Star Refrigeration, was Sarah Reid's World Junior Champions: Sarah Reid, Eve Muirhead, Barbara McFarlane, Sarah Macintyre and Alison Black (see photo below). Eve was also recognised as the Young Curler of the Year, that award sponsored by McMillan Hotels.

Elite Coach of the Year (sponsored by sportscotland) was Sheila Swan, and Coach of the Year (sponsored by Curling Supplies) was Judith McFarlane.

Iain Baxter of Murrayfield was Ice Rink Manager of the Year, that award sponsored by Christiansen Management. The two Ice Maker of the Year awards, sponsored by Kays of Scotland, went to Alan Grant of Braehead and Paul Martin of the Dewars Rinks, Perth.

Curling Journalist of the Year (sponsored by Ferguson Oliver) was Robin Wilson.

Congratulations to all.

Hugh Stewart's photo (below) shows (L-R) Alison Black, Sarah Macintyre, Sarah Reid, Eve Muirhead and Barbara McFarlane with the World Junior Championship trophy.

No comments: