April 03, 2008

Sloan wins Perth U-17

Thomas Sloan with Blair Fraser, Hannah Fleming and Rebecca Kesley won the Perth Under-17 competition at the Dewar's Centre today. The Sloan team beat Hamilton McMillan, Rori MacPherson, Andi Lock and Hamish McGeoch in the final, running out a 6-1 lead after five ends.

In the semifinals, Hamilton's team had beaten Grant Hardie, Kyle Smith, Thomas Muirhead and Cameron Smith, and Sloan's side had won through against Jennifer Dodds, Tasha Aitken, Abigail Brown and Mhairi Baird. In the 3-4 playoff, Hardie's team finished 6-2 ahead of Dodds' side.

All the results and linescores are here.

Word from Cairnie House is that twenty-three teams have so far registered for next season's U-17 Slam, of which two are mixed and seven are girls' teams. Further teams wishing to compete in the Slam have until June 30 to sign up.

Above: Sue Fitzsimons, wife of Danny, the former manager of the Dewar's Centre in whose memory the trophy was donated two years ago, presented the prizes to L-R Rebecca Kesley, Hannah Fleming, Blair Fraser and Thomas Sloan.

Below: It's heads down as the team work on Thomas' first stone in the fourth end.

No comments: