May 29, 2008

Supported curlers in Scotland

The full list of curlers who will receive support under the various headings of British Curling, the Scottish Institute of Sport, the National Academy, the Area Institutes, and the Regional Academies has been announced today and may be found here. (Added 19.45. This link no longer goes to the information. It has apparently been removed. Don't know why. However, the information below should be taken as provisional)

It's a big list, and no doubt will be the subject of much comment on the Scottish Curling Forum.

I'll not list all everything here. I've already posted the Olympic Squad athlete names (here). They are Euan Byers, Ewan MacDonald, David Murdoch, Peter Smith, Warwick Smith, Craig Wilson, Karen Addison, Lynn Cameron, Jackie Lockhart, Eve Muirhead, Lorna Vevers and Kelly Wood. The others, supported by the Scottish Institute of Sport and named today, are Vicki Adams, Kerry Barr, Ron Brewster, Tom Brewster, Colin Campbell, Anne Laird, Sarah Macintyre, Duncan Fernie, Ross Hepburn, Barbara McFarlane, Claire Milne, Mairi Milne, Sarah Reid, Rachael Simms and Lindsay Wood.

The seven teams receiving support in the RCCC's National Academy are:
Gillian Howard, Kay Adams, Linsey Spence, Jennifer Priestley
Hannah Fleming, Rebecca Kesley, Alice Spence, Abigail Brown
John Hamilton, Philip Garden, Iain Chalmers, Graeme Copland
Glen Muirhead, Greg Drummond, Scott Macleod, Scott Andrews
Claire Hamilton, Lauren Gray, Rhiann Macleod, Caitlin Barr
Alan Smith, Neil McArthur, David Reid, Mark Fraser
Kerr Drummond, James Dunn, Thomas Pendreigh, Blair Fraser

A description of the Performance Pathway for curling in Scotland is on the Royal Club website here.

No comments: