July 10, 2007

New countries enter European Curling Championships 2007

Iceland and Ukraine have entered European Curling Championships for the first time. The two countries will field men's teams at Le Gruyere European Championships in Füssen, Germany, December 1-8, 2007.

A record number of nations have entered this year. A total of fifty-six teams (33 men’s and 23 women’s) from thirty-three of the thirty-five ECF member nations will participate. The ECF website is here.

Last year, thirty men's teams took part in Basel. Andorra will compete this year again in addition to the two new countries mentioned above. The A league in 2006 was won by Andi Schwaller's Switzerland. The Czech Republic and Italy gained promotion from the B league to this year's ten-team A league.

The Irish women join the twenty-two other countries which competed last year. At Basel 2006 the A league was won by Ludmila Privivkova's Russians. Austria and Finland gained promotion from the B league and will compete in the A division this season in Fussen.

The sponsorship of the European event by Le Gruyère AOC was recently renewed.

No comments: